chef’n it up

Culinary urges have taken hold. Since I’m not growing food this year, I’m trying to make fresh in-season food to eat and possibly to store. I came home with two big bunches of basil from the farmer’s market and prepared my first-ever batch of pesto. It’s delicious because parmesan cheese may be the most plentiful ingredient.

IMG_6631

Ready for the freezer:

IMG_6642

Kale chips are a new favourite around here. Sprinkle kale leaves with oil and salt and bake for 8 or 10 minutes until crispy.

IMG_6641

IMG_6644

And just in case all the deliciousness was going to my head, full disclosure requires that I admit that my oatmeal chocolate chip cookies continue to fail by smearing themselves all over the pan and turning themselves into granola bars.

IMG_6634

What do you think?

