getting it done

Today was one of those good days where you feel like a few things actually got done. With Akka at school and Malli occupied, I, for the first time ever, cleaned under the fridge. This is what I found (minus the dust and grime):

IMG_7058

Moving the fridge left strange yellow streaks on the floor until I discovered the yellow crayon bit and pried it out from under one of the fridge feet. Sheesh.

Once Akka was home, we dug into pumpkin carving. I asked the kids draw what they wanted on the pumpkins and I would carve them out. Akka is sufficiently indoctrinated with Halloween tradition to know to draw a face. Malli not so much.

IMG_7077

IMG_7079

Malli’s creative vision for his pumpkin was a bit beyond my carving skills (my thumb has stopped bleeding, thanks for asking) so we compromized on two eyes and a mouth. He went to town with the butter knife, significantly enlarging one eye:

IMG_7086

Then we had to turn off all the lights and close all the blinds for a test-lighting since waiting for the sun to go down was going to take way too long.

IMG_7112

Unrelated to Halloween but related to getting-it-done: scrap metal collectors finally came by to collect our old garage door and all the leftover siding from the garage construction. And, the new garage door arrived and was installed allowing me to post the long-awaited Glorious, complete “after” shot (alley side):

IMG_7088

Here’s a refresher:

before:

IMG_6587

during:

IMG_6758

after (garden side):

IMG_7042

Done! I’m holding myself back from installing shelves and hooks and moving all the crap from the basement out there. Mostly because I have two rattlesnake costumes hanging over me but also because of some building inspection uncertainties. Good days where you feel like a few things actually got done still end with to-do lists.

6 responses to “getting it done

  1. Ahhhhhhh! His pumpkin made me laugh out loud! So adorable.

  2. yayy about the scrap metal being gone! yay about the garage door arriving! yay – lots has happened 🙂

  3. sexy garage! I am thinking sewing studio, office….
    How do you like your composter? We have to get one for our new place. I saw the one you have at Home Depot today, but wonder if we should get the kind that you can crank and tumble. Advice?

  4. That composter came with the house. It’s pretty good but I never compared to other ones. It has a door that slides open at the bottom so you can take out finished compost. We have to take the top off and dig around with a pitchfork to stir it but it works.

  5. Am I the only dork who can’t get enough of these garage pictures? Can you post more of the finished product please? One taken from the kitchen door, for example, one of the inside of the garage, one of the backyard from the garage window…

  6. omigod reecia you really ARE a dork!!! I thought you were going to say more pics of the kids!!

    Miss you –

    S

What do you think?

